Ruana Stylin’

Ruana Stylin’

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

As I have been Christmas shopping in the major department stores I am seeing Ruana’s everywhere this year! They are just the thing for a quick cover up and as I looked them over I thought I could make one easily. I made it on the mid-gauge machine and used the plating technique – so easy on the LK150. Both yarns were 2/24 which is lightweight for the mid-gauge, but because of the plating it takes a thinner yarn.  Some have fringe – but not all of them and I decided I was not really a fringe kind of person so opted for ribbing instead. But my little LK150 does not have a ribber and I am not one to do any hand tooled ribbing! So, I did the ribbing on my standard gauge machine and took it to the mid-gauge and hung on the same number of needles. It worked beautifully!  I wanted the plating to show, so turned back the front edges and put a button in place to keep it turned out. I also put a button on the sides so the front and back would hang evenly off my shoulders. I did the no-roll edge on the stockinet and used 2 colors that harmonized well together. Both yarns have a subtle touch of pink, blue and purple when viewed up close.  The pattern is above blog title. 🙂

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Rib and no-roll edging
7 thoughts on “Ruana Stylin’

  1. Love your styling of this ruins (one of my favourite garments although I have never knitted one but it is in my “to do” list. I am about to knit a shrug for my DD using your idea of tucking in one direction only. I find that makes a pretty fabric and gives that extra width without being too “tucked”. Thank you for that idea too. 😀

    Like

  2. Lovely Ruana Ann sits beautifully might try one myself but not now just starting very hot Summer here in OZ so will put it on the list for Winter- good tip re the ribbing
    Happy Christmas

    Cara
    Sydney
    Australia.

    Like

Leave a Reply

