Powerful Words

Powerful Words

enc3

I have been working on a project over the past month and I realized afresh what a huge blessing encouragement is – not only to me, but to everyone. We all have jobs in our lives that need done that require some effort and time to accomplish well and we just have to keep plugging along to make progress. But, what I noticed is that when I would get bogged down in the doing of it, a small word of appreciation or encouragement gave me the needed boost to carry on. It was amazing what a couple lines in an email did to discourage or encourage me. A couple of encouraging notes that I did receive, I kept in my in-box and re-read them several times – and they renewed my energy and resolve to keep working. Now, I am not doing this or any project to just receive other’s praise – but because I feel a sense of duty to fulfill the job I was called to do. But, encouragement made a huge difference to me in my work!  We live in a pretty discouraging world these days – just listen to the newscast for a few days in a row and that becomes quite evident.   But, God has called me to be a light in a dark world for Him. So for my little corner of the world, I strive to speak words of love and encouragement to all those I touch – and let others know what their encouragement means to me. In the Bible when Paul was giving some instruction he said “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things”. If we really do think on such things in our lives it is much easier to speak words of encouragement. Words are powerful and may we all use them in ways that lift and build others up! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Powerful Words

  1. Ann your picture is beside the word “encourager” in the dictionary! Whenever you are encouraged you take others with you!! John Maxwell asked, “How do you know when a person needs encouragement? They’re breathing!” We all need it. Thanks for reminding us to give it out because it’s such a blessing to others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

