Cut and Sew Hoodie

Cut and Sew Hoodie

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Front of Child Hoodie

I am finding it difficult to make time to knit with a busy summer! 🙂  I ran across some fabric I had knit on the standard gauge quite a while back – all tucked into a basket in my sewing room. I had started with a 2 X 2 ribbing and just made several pieces of fabric in a tuck stitch with a 2/17 yarn. I wanted to do a complete cut and sew for this hoodie so I started with a hand knit schematic and cut out the pieces to the right size. I then serged around each raw-edged piece using a 1.5 setting on the differential feed. This made the edges lay completely flat with no waviness. I sewed the garment pieces together using the sewing machine with the purl side as the public side – I really liked all that texture and hated to hide it inside. Although, I did hand mattress stitch each of the 4 places where the ribbing met to ensure it looked good. The light yarn makes a nice, lightweight summer hoodie and it was a snap to make since the knitting was all done.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Pieces of Knit Fabric
KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
All Pieces Cut Out Except for Hood
KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Back of Hoodie
8 thoughts on “Cut and Sew Hoodie

Leave a Reply

