Special Benefits

Special Benefits

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
My Colorado Columbine in bloom

I have been recovering from a vacation. Sounds like the opposite should be true – we vacation to recover from daily life. 🙂 But, even as enjoyable as a vacation is – the stress of travelling and sleeping in a different bed seems to bring its own issues. And so, in the meantime, there is no knitting going on at my house. My machines are calling my name as I walk by them – but, I have been giving them the cold shoulder for a while! 🙂  I went in for a therapeutic massage to help me feel better. That sounds like luxury, and even though some of the massage feels good, some is quite painful as the kinks are worked out of my muscles. After all, it is therapeutic – a curative procedure meant to help my body heal itself. As the therapist ministrations were given it made me think of the fact that sometimes we have to endure hard things or sufferings in order for good benefits to be produced. We all have physical and emotional hard things and suffering in our lives but God says that it produces endurance and endurance produces character and character produces hope and hope does not put us to shame because God’s love has been poured into our hearts. (Romans 5) Now, that is good news! Suffering has purpose and can benefit us and remind us that what we go through is a gift. It reminds us of how fragile life really is and our need for God to comfort us. Plus, there is a special benefit for others when we suffer – we can really empathize and comfort someone else going through the same pain we have experienced. And so, today is a better day – having benefited from my massage – and those lonely knitting machines just might get some attention! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Special Benefits

  1. Ain’t that the truth! Good to be reminded! I guess no pain no gain is applicable here. 🙂 Thanks for “taking us with you” on your learning curves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

