Thankful In All Circumstances

Thankful In All Circumstances

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Double Crochet
KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Machine Knit Tuck Lace

I have been recovering from some surgery and was unable to use the knitting machine. So I thought I would do a little crochet – something to keep my mind occupied when all I can really do is sit. So I found a pattern, but wanted to do it in lighter yarn than the 4 ply Red Heart it called for. The chemo hat charity wants soft, lightweight hats – especially for the upcoming summer. I think it turned out ok for using an entirely different yarn, size of needle and type of stitch that the pattern called for. So much for following a pattern. 🙂 But since I had not done any crochet in quite a while it made me realize how long hand work takes compared to machine knitting! In order to have some hand seaming to do as I was sitting after this surgery, I had machine knit a whole stack of hats ahead of time. I made all of them in the time it has taken me to hand crochet this hat! I think this has confirmed my love of machine knitting! 🙂
But, back to the surgery. This was for cancer surgery on my nose. No one wants cancer, but someplace as visible as my nose seemed like even a harder trial to bear. And I can tell you this has been a difficult week. The pain, even with their bottle of pain killers, was unbearable at times. I could go on about where my mind wanted to go about how the final result of this would be and wondering if I would ever look normal. But what I want to relay to you is that God says in 1 Thessalonians 5: 16 – 16 to rejoice always, to pray continually and give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for me in Christ Jesus. Did I need to be thankful that I got cancer on my nose? No – God does not want his children to suffer. But I can rejoice and be thankful anyway. I had the kind of cancer that does not spread to other parts of my body. I had an incredibly skilled surgeon that even with extensive cutting from the bridge of my nose to the tip, but with her expert reconstruction, someday I will be able to look at my nose and say it is “beautiful” – just as she declared when she was finished. 🙂

Today, I can’t quite say that as some healing needs to take place. I am also thankful I had many of you dear friends, some close by and some that I have never met, from around the world, saying you were lifting me up in prayer- some sending verses to comfort me. I have an incredible, loving family that supported me in prayer and physically in every way possible. My husband went through the highs and lows of this week with loving patience and compassion. My sister faithfully prayed for me constantly and sent me Godly wisdom with her newsy emails to keep my mind distracted. My incredibly busy daughter prayed, brought me beautiful roses, videos from the library to fill my time, sage advice and understanding. Yes, I can be thankful to God in this incredibly hard circumstance. And my heart is thankful for all of you that showed me love through this trial! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Thankful In All Circumstances

  1. Ann, I send healing prayers for you and for a speedy recovery. I love your crocheted hat. I agree it take a long time to knit or crochet an item by had. I love my machines too.

    Like

  2. I was reminded last Sunday during an excellent sermon that what God calls good is not generally what we call “good” God’s good is what brings glory to Him and conforms us to His image. Just like the man born blind for the purpose of being healed by Jesus. I pray that you will see God’s goodness in this difficult time. I will be praying for your recovery.

    Like

  3. I was wondering when you were having your surgery. I will pray for your recovery. God is faithful and praying He will accomplish all He desires in this rough time.
    I love crocheting so relaxing but a machine sure can do more. The hats are beautiful!

    Like

  4. Hi Ann
    I was wondering if you had had your surgery and then saw the email. My scripture verse for today was Psalm 139 v 23 and 24. ” Search me, O God, and know my heart, prove me and know my thoughts. And see if there be any grievous way in me and lead me in the way everlasting.” Unless, God is revealed to us through personal experience, we can never really know God. Most of us know about God, but that is quite different from really knowing God. I thought I would share this with you and will continue to pray for your speedy recovery and needed grace for each day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

