Spiral Tam Hat

Spiral Tam Hat

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Slouchy

I am always trying new ways to make chemo hats and came across this Diana Sullivan Tam Hat and gave it a try.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTc_t_SBYg0   It was really fun to make but will wait till I can get some more yarn (a great excuse to go yarn shopping…oh yeah… 🙂 ) to make one for the charity. This yarn was of undetermined fiber – but it was the only sock yarn in my stash I had to sample with. It is not Fair Isle, but the sock yarn that gives it the fun, striped design.  And, it is made with a series of short rows to give it the spiral effect.  It can be worn a couple ways – one more slouchy if preferred. The key to a great looking hat is the blocking over a dinner plate. I can’t wait to make more!

Diana Sullivan is coming to our machine knitting club for a seminar on April 30th. We have several out of town guests that have signed up. Won’t you consider joining us? You can depend on her seminars being worth the trip! If you respond to this post requesting specifics, I will send you info on how to sign up.

15 thoughts on “Spiral Tam Hat

  1. The hat is terrific, Ann…I think I will try one…or at least put it on the TO-DO list! I would love to have details about your knitting club’s seminar on 4/30. I’d love to meet Diana — and YOU. All the best, Jan

    Like

  2. Great hat! I also wish I lived a little closer, (although I do love my Northern Ontario life in the bush). It does give me good excuses to knit warm clothes tho! There aren’t a lot of machine knitters up my way, or opportunities to learn , other than via the Internet and posts like yours. Have a great time at your seminar with Diana Sullivan. And another thanks for sharing your expertise!

    Like

  3. That’s a great hat Ann, thank you for sharing. Will give it a try when I get back from holiday. Wish I could come to your seminar but it’s a long way from Australia where I live. 👍😀

    Like

  4. Please email me information regarding your April 30th seminar. Love to read all your helpful information – I’m only a beginner, but my to do list is getting longer and longer:)

    Like

  5. I love the tam. Haven’t made it because no one in my family wears hats.I think I have watched all of Sullivan’s videos. I have made several items under her tutelage, I would love to see her in person . Where is the seminar?

    Like

Leave a Reply

