True Thanksgiving

True Thanksgiving

thanksgiving

We will be gathering to celebrate Thanksgiving Day this week with our family. As I anticipate seeing everyone, I am reminded that I have so much to be thankful for. God has blessed me and my husband with relatively good health for our ages. He has allowed us to fulfill our lifelong dream of living in the quiet countryside in our retirement. We have a loving family of children and grandchildren. Not everything is perfect in our lives – there are problems and issues to deal with – just as everyone has in their lives. But, we choose to have an attitude of gratitude. It is not that we ignore our problems that need attention, with our head stuck in the sand. But, if we would focus only on the things we would like to change or are not the best in our lives it makes us feel slighted or it makes us feel bad and depressed. So we have made a choice to major on the positive and when we do that we feel incredibly blessed, happy and at peace. At this Thanksgiving season we are thankful for many things– especially for the assurance we have in a future with God because of our trust in the work of Jesus Christ on the cross. But, we can all list things we are thankful for. One time, as I was discussing a problem in my life with my beautiful daughter, Suzanne, she listened carefully and offered excellent advice to resolve it. But, she also challenged me to make a written list of 10 things I was thankful for. When I began to list them, it changed my mindset dramatically. I challenge you to get a paper and pencil and begin a list. It might be as simple as the fact you could get out of bed this morning. But, as you write, thankfulness will fill your heart and you may find your list continuing. May your outlook be one of true Thanksgiving. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “True Thanksgiving

  1. So much to be thankful for. When I gripe about situations I immediately think of others with bigger problems and feel like a spiritual midget with no right to complain. I’m trying to give the struggles to God and focus on how much is good in life. Thanks for the reminder. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. Hi Ann
        I so enjoy your peeks and also your posts on Knitting Paradise and often look in awe at the wonderful things you make and wonder if I will ever master the art. But the peeks are different because I can share with you the assurance that I have peace with God and put my faith in our Lord Jesus Christ the One who has died to save me. We were reminded only last week in a preaching here that if it was only me Jesus would have died for me. What we have to be thankful for. And we can cast all our cares on Him because He cares about us. xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

