First Christmas Sweater Completed

First Christmas Sweater Completed

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
Tuck Lace Rib

After asking her daughter for a color suggestion, I knit a forest green cardigan for my friend for Christmas. It is knit in Open or Tuck Lace, but instead of just taking the specified needles out of work, I put that stitch onto a ribber needle making it Tuck Lace Rib. I have used this stitch a lot for chemo hats, but after consulting a couple machine knitting blog authors that had used this stitch for garments I learned a sweater can grow length wise when wearing if it is not made into a ribbed fabric. Plus they both gave me advice on the end needle selection. So I made a drop shoulder sweater with a cut and sew V neckline on the front pieces because it was so much faster to knit without decreases in pattern and serge to shape later. I used a hand knitting schematic for the size I wanted and after making a tension swatch, quickly knit up the pieces. I did a sandwich band to enclose the cut and sew edge. Only 5 more Christmas sweaters. Hmmm…I think I should have started sooner! 🙂

6 thoughts on “First Christmas Sweater Completed

  1. Terrific sweater , well done

    regards maggiex

    On 30 October 2015 at 01:49, A Peek into the Window of My Life wrote:

    > A Peek into the Window of My Life posted: ” After asking her daughter for > a color suggestion, I knit a forest green cardigan for my friend for > Christmas. It is knit in Open or Tuck Lace, but instead of just taking the > specified needles out of work, I put that stitch onto a ribber needle > making “

    Like

Leave a Reply

