Unclouded Day

Unclouded Day

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
                                         Sally

“O they tell me of a home far beyond the skies,
O they tell me of a home far away;
O they tell me of a home where no storm clouds rise,
O they tell me of an unclouded day…”

I was heartily singing this age-old hymn Sunday, when I was struck with fresh emotion and tears and could not finish singing because of the meaning for me. First, I am a person that is so affected by whether the sun is shining or not. If we have a cloudy day, I tend to be subdued in my emotions and lethargic. It is not that I cannot function if we have an occasional cloudy day, but too many cloudy days in a row and I really notice. But when I awake to the sun shining I am filled with energy and a bright mood.  I love the sunshine and so does my kitty, Sally. She finds the sunny spot on the carpet and rolls over so her tummy gets warmed. But, there is also a much deeper meaning for me. I know of a future home far beyond the skies, where no storm clouds rise. I live in a lovely, quiet, country home that I enjoy immensely. But, heaven is my real home. That is a home I will get to live in someday – not because I have been a relatively good person here on earth – but because I have placed my trust in Jesus Christ and his work on the cross for me. We are blessed in this world we live in, even though we see society, as a whole, growing worse and worse. But, to know I can look forward to a home with unclouded days, because Jesus is the light, is the true blessing.

5 thoughts on “Unclouded Day

Leave a Reply

