Lightweight Chemo Hats

Lightweight Chemo Hats

 

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
A variety of colors, sizes and designs

I have been knitting some more lightweight chemo hats to donate to the charity our machine knitting club supports. As I talked with our charity contact at club about what makes a good hat for women that are undergoing chemotherapy, she suggested one that is cool enough wear even indoors. So that means it needs to be light yarn and an open weave helps. She said a lot of hats are donated that are heavier and those will be great for cold weather. I think the ones I have made will be good for summer wear. I have put the pattern in the Machine Knit Pattern section above the blog title under adult hats.  I liked the 2 x 2 rib on the yellow one – just for a bit of variety. These are all knit in an Open Tuck pattern – which means needles are out of work to create the lacy effect. I hope you give one a try – they knit up in just a few minutes. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Lightweight Chemo Hats

  1. What a great thing to do, Ann. My sister was just diagnosed with breast cancer before she visited. She’s in the process of deciding treatment. I know it must be a blessing to feel the care of others when you go through that. The hats are beautiful. I crocheted a hat from a pattern from Crochet for Cancer and it is thick. I started it before I knew my sister had cancer. There us no chapter in AR. Not sure if my sister will need chemo or if I’ll continue trying to start a chapter here. Hope my comment isn’t too long.

    Like

    1. Ah, Jane, your comments are never too long – I can listen to you all day! 🙂 It is a great cause – the organization we donate them to has a basket where they get chemo and the ladies can sift through and find one they like. 🙂 Ann PS I am so sorry to hear about your sister!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

