Plating on the Knitting Machine

Plating on the Knitting Machine

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA
KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to a workshop our local Knitting Club hosted and our teacher for the day was Eileen Montgomery, a very knowledgeable and good communicator of all things machine knitting.  I invite you to check out her web page – full of fun freebies and info.  http://www.eileenmontgomery.com     One of the subjects she covered was plating on the knitting machine.  I have made some plated projects in the past – one, a scarf that had 2 different colored sides (no photo) and the pink/white 5 X 5 ribbed scarf with the checkerboard ends in the photos. It is very unique – and is accomplished by trading out the plating yarns every few rows. But the workshop sparked my interest again and I have been making some knit hats for the Chemo Hat Project our Knit Club supports.  I started with the lime/teal 1 X 1 ribbed hat in the photo. The knit stitches are teal and the purl stitches a lime color.  Then, I made the lavender, rolled brim hat in stockinette where it is a different color on each side. I like it – although I wish I would have chosen 2 yarns with greater contrast in color. When the brim rolls you see the inside color. Plating has several utilitarian uses – among them is making a thin yarn stiffer, or making a smooth side to a scratchy yarn and in those cases, it is good to use the same color to plate with. But, I am intrigued by the 2 color part of this and want to make several more Chemo Hats trying different color combos and techniques to combine 2 colors.  The patterns for the hats are above in Machine Knit Patterns. These little plating feeders that our machines came with are under-utilized and I encourage you to dig them out, refer to your manuals for instructions and give it a try!

Leave a Reply

